Current Roundtable

Philosophy of Social Science Roundtable

March 17-18, 2023

University of Memphis


Call for Abstracts: We welcome extended abstracts (between 600-1,200 words) for papers on any topic in philosophy of the social sciences or in the philosophy of social phenomena, especially those that tackle philosophical issues as they arise in, and are consequential for, practicing social scientists. We will assemble a two day program of workshop-format sessions so that intensive discussion can be the focus of the meeting.

As always, papers in all areas of philosophy and social science are encouraged.

Our keynote speaker will be Sandra González-Bailón (PhD Sociology, Oxford) who is an Associate Professor at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication, and affiliated faculty at the Warren Center for Network and Data Sciences. Her research lies at the intersection of network science, computational tools, and political communication. She is the author of Decoding the Social World (MIT Press, 2017) and co-editor of The Oxford Handbook of Networked Communication (OUP, 2020)


Extended abstracts (600-1200 words) should be submitted through


Submission deadline: 19 December 2022

Program Committee

Organizers: Deborah Tollefsen, (local organizer); David Henderson

Committee: Kareem Khalifa (UCLA); David Henderson (University of Nebraska, Lincoln); Mark Risjord (Emory University); Paul Roth (UC-Santa Cruz), Deborah Tollefsen (University of Memphis), Stephen Turner (University of South Florida)


Selected papers from the Conference will be published in an annual special issue of the journal Philosophy of the Social Sciences.

Join the mailing list for updates.

%d bloggers like this: